New Zealand to Introduce New Travel Requirements

  • Travel
New Zealand to Introduce New Travel Requirements

Travellers wishing to visit New Zealand from 60 visa waiver countries are now required to obtain an Electronic Travel Authority (ETA) before heading to the country.

The measure will go into effect starting October 1st, 2019.

According to New Zealand’s government website, the ETA, with a validity period of two years, is aimed at boosting security, reducing immigration risks and addressing smuggling and bio-security risks. It will also allow local authorities to assess the profile of passengers before they head to New Zealand.

Travellers will also have to pay an International Visitor Conservation and Tourism Levy, which will cost $24 and remain valid for the same period as the ETA.

Holders of valid New Zealand visas and Australian citizens will be exempt from the measure. Australian permanent residents will need to apply for the ETA, but do not need to pay the tourism levy.